top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Blog 11 - Viral Marketing

For my last blog of the semester, I decided to skim over the Wikipedia article that Mat had suggested we read, and to be honest I would rather read this than another chapter in the Bedford Book of Genres. That would be because the book practically puts me to sleep and is something that is used as a helpful tool, not a good read at night or when I am bored. Anyways, this article focused on viral marketing. What is viral marketing you ask? To simply put it, it is when a social networking site advertises different brands in order to raise brand awareness. Basically, they advertise the same shit over and over again so it gets stuck into your head until you have the need to actually buy the damn thing. You know those shitty iPhone games they advertise on your Instagram feed, even though they look terrible, you know what game it is and what it’s about? Bingo, basic viral marketing. Although it seems simple, the actual process of marketing this game takes a lot more time and effort than someone would think. It takes actual data analysis of what social media outlets they should advertise on, what people to link it to so that it would gain popularity quicker, and how simple and effective the information is so that the people who see it are able to grasp the basic concept and understand it. This not only goes for games, but all types of consumer goods and products that we all will eventually get suckered into spending our money on because why the hell not? It seems like no matter what we do, we will always drop our hard-earned cash on a crap game or product we won’t need if we hear about it or see it enough.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 10- Blog About It

For my 10th blog post, I wanted to discuss the intricate levels that project three has to offer in terms of both applying everything we have discussed and how you can honestly make it unique and creat

Blog About It- Project Two

For my blog post, I wanted to just focus a little bit on my project thus far and everything that I’ve been learning from my project on my community. For those who do not know, my community that I chos

Ch. 5 of the Bedford Book of Genres

I had chosen to read and look up on chapter five of the Bedford Book of Genres. This chapter focused on exploring topics and creating a research proposal for papers. Some of the information within the

bottom of page