top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Chapter 1- Understanding Genres

After going over the first chapter within “The Bedford Book of Genres”, I learned several things about genres in particular that I honestly did not know about prior to my reading. One thing that caught my eye in particular was the fluidity of genres themselves. For the longest time, I had always assumed that genres were secular sections, each consisting of their own criteria that makes the item (whether it be a document, notebook, letter, etc.) fixated in that particular genre. After my reading, I was able to learn that genres typically overlap, so that some things can be fit into other genres based on their content. Taking this into context, I can go as far as to apply things to other various things that have genres, such as movies and music, that contain various aspects of each genre combined together. In addition to this, I was able to gain valuable insight on what in particular you should evaluate and determine when it comes to writing in a particular genre. I knew about the rhetorical appeals of ethos, pathos, and logos in a rhetorical situation; but I was surprised to learn that even the modes and media in which your work is displayed to the audience play a part in how your writing is experienced and taken by said audience. Using multiple modes and a particular media can have a big impact; which was something I did not consider.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 11 - Viral Marketing

For my last blog of the semester, I decided to skim over the Wikipedia article that Mat had suggested we read, and to be honest I would rather read this than another chapter in the Bedford Book of Gen

Blog 10- Blog About It

For my 10th blog post, I wanted to discuss the intricate levels that project three has to offer in terms of both applying everything we have discussed and how you can honestly make it unique and creat

Blog About It- Project Two

For my blog post, I wanted to just focus a little bit on my project thus far and everything that I’ve been learning from my project on my community. For those who do not know, my community that I chos

bottom of page